Overview and Career Paths of the CompTIA Certification

CompTIA offers one of the IT sector’s most respected vendor-neutral certification programs. Since 1993 it has distributed more than two million CompTIA A+ certifications across the globe.

These certifications are organized by skill set. CompTIA certifications comprise four categories: Core, Infrastructure, Cybersecurity, and Additional Professional.

Let’s understand these four categories:

  1. Core CompTIA Certifications

CompTIA offers four Core certifications to help professionals develop their core foundational skills: IT Fundamentals+, CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, and CompTIA Security+. IT Fundamentals+ is a pre-career certification that focuses on the IT foundation framework. 

  • CompTIA Security+

The CompTIA Security+ exam covers various topics, including risks and vulnerabilities, access control, identity management, cryptography, and more.

  • IT Fundamentals+ by CompTIA

Beginners with knowledge of technology concepts, including fundamental hardware, software installation, security risks and mitigation, and fundamental networking, are best suited for CompTIA IT Fundamentals+. It’s also perfect for those who have just begun their professional journey in the IT industry and looking to shift jobs as a tool for career planning or growth.  

  • CompTIA Network+

The CompTIA A+ certification is a common starting point for IT specialists. Although the A+ certification is advised, you may advance straight to the CompTIA Network+ certification if you already have the necessary experience and don’t feel the need for the CompTIA A+ certification.

  • CompTIA A+

For a good reason, the CompTIA A+ certification has been called an “entry-level rite of passage for IT specialists.” People looking to work as help desk, support, service centre, or networking technicians should get this qualification. It addresses PC and laptop hardware, software setup, and mobile and desktop operating system settings.

  1. Certifications for Infrastructure

CompTIA Server+, CompTIA Cloud+, and CompTIA Linux+ are the infrastructure certifications built to complement the Network+ credential. CompTIA Server+ focuses on server support and administration issues, while CompTIA Cloud+ examines hybrid clouds, virtual system administration, and deploying network storage resources.

  • CompTIA Linux+

The CompTIA Linux+ Powered by LPI certification is available for those with at least a year of experience managing Linux. This knowledge should include installation, package management, shells, scripting, security, and other abilities. The CompTIA A+ and Network+ certifications are recommended as prerequisites for this qualification, while they are not necessary.

  • CompTIA Cloud+

The CompTIA Cloud+ certification has already been keeping up with the rapid growth of the cloud computing business. IT workers with two to three years of expertise in storage, networking, or data centre management should pursue this certification.

  • CompTIA Server+

CompTIA A+ certification is recommended before taking up CompTIA Server+course. It is designed for server administrators with 18 to 24 months of experience working with server hardware and software technologies.

  1. CompTIA Certifications in Cybersecurity

CompTIA provides three cybersecurity credentials: the CompTIA PenTest+, the CompTIA CySA+ (CySA stands for Cyber Security Analyst; it targets IT behavioural security analysts), and the CompTIA CASP+ (CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner)

  • Analyst in Cybersecurity for CompTIA (CySA+)

As cybercrime rises, the need for highly qualified information security experts will keep rising. The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) projects that the employment of information security analysts will increase by 28 percent between 2016 and 2026. It is the highest pace of all professions. The Cybersecurity Analyst (CySA+) certification is one of the more recent additions to the CompTIA certification portfolio. The CySA+ certificate addresses the constantly expanding need for knowledgeable, seasoned information security analysts.

  • Advanced Security Practitioner+ (CASP+) by CompTIA

Although CompTIA no longer uses the term “master,” the highly desired CASP+ certification is unquestionably a master-level certificate. CompTIA’s only performance-based, practical certification that targets practitioners is CASP. Experienced IT security professionals who plan, build, and execute security solutions in a corporate context should apply for this certification.

  • PenTest+ by CompTIA

The CompTIA PenTest+ is the newest member of the CompTIA certification family. PenTest+ is an intermediate-level certification that works in conjunction with CySA+. The PenTest+ credential is offensive and employs penetration testing to find and manage network vulnerabilities across many spectra, while CySA+ is defensive (focused on threat detection and response).

  1. Additional Certifications in the Profession

This area contains many credentials that don’t naturally fall into any of the above career pathways, such as CompTIA Project+, CompTIA CTT+, and CompTIA Cloud Essentials.

  • CompTIA Project +

Those project managers who know project lifecycles from planning to completion might consider earning the CompTIA Project+. It focuses only on project management.

  • Cloud Essentials from CompTIA

The CompTIA Cloud Essentials certification is intended for those who know how to transition from on-premises storage to the cloud and the commercial elements of cloud computing. 

  • The CompTIA CTT+

 Anyone interested in technical training should get the CompTIA Certified Technical Trainer (CTT+) certification. It covers teacher abilities in a vendor-neutral manner, including planning, presentation, communication, facilitation, and assessment. The following companies: Adobe, Cisco, Dell, IBM, Microsoft, and Ricoh, recognize CTT+ in place of their internal trainer credentials and advise their trainers to do so.


The internationally renowned certification authority CompTIA has created many courses to address the knowledge and skill shortages in the contemporary IT industry. People who want to further their IT career may choose online CompTIA Certifications courses to either brush up on their basic competencies or attempt to specialize in a field related to their employment position. 

image source: https://unsplash.com/@wocintechchat





Sharing is caring!

You may also like